PSHE Jigsaw            


At St Peter’s C of E Primary School, PSHE is at the core of what we do and enables our children to become independent, confident, healthy and responsible members of society, as well as developing the “whole child” intellectually, morally, socially and spiritually. Through our whole-school approach to PSHE, it is our belief that excellence in these areas will lead to excellence across the curriculum and beyond into later life. 

PSHE is taught across the school from Early Years to Year 6 on a weekly basis and as a school, we follow and adapt the Jigsaw PSHE scheme with all year groups working on the same theme at the same time. Our PSHE curriculum equips children with relevant and meaningful content, which is supported through a strong emphasis on emotional literacy, building resilience and nurturing mental and physical health. With an ever changing society, we are able to provide our children with a strong understanding of the diverse world around them and support them in playing a positive role in contributing to the school and the wider community. Weaving through the heart of our PSHE teaching, is a commitment to enhancing and promoting our core Christian fruits of the Spirit. 

When teaching Jigsaw, there are six Puzzles (half-term units of work), each with six Pieces (lessons). Every year group studies the same Puzzle at the same time once a week and all lessons are delivered in an age- and stage-appropriate way, so that they meet children’s needs.

The different puzzle pieces are:



Relationships & Sex Education

An important part of the Jigsaw PSHE programme is delivered through the 'Relationships' and 'Changing Me' puzzle pieces, which are covered in the summer term. 

There are four main aims of teaching RSE:

• To enable children to understand and respect their bodies
• To help children develop positive and healthy relationships appropriate to their age and development
• To support children to have positive self-esteem and body image
• To empower them to be safe and safeguarded

Each year group will be taught appropriately for their age and developmental stage.

Below is a summary of RSE coverage within the Jigsaw scheme for each year group:

• Foundation Stage - Growing up: how we have changed since we were babies
• Year 1 - Boys’ and girls’ bodies; naming body parts
• Year 2 - Boys’ and girls’ bodies; body parts and respecting privacy (which parts of the body are private and why this is)
• Year 3 - How babies grow and how boys’ and girls’ bodies change as they grow older
• Year 4 - Internal and external reproductive body parts, body changes in girls and menstruation
• Year 5 - Puberty for boys and girls, and conception
• Year 6 - Puberty for boys and girls and understanding conception to birth of a baby


For further information, please refer to the guides for Jigsaw.

PSHCE Curriculum

Updated: 17/09/2023 103 KB
Updated: 17/09/2023 674 KB
Updated: 17/09/2023 201 KB
Updated: 17/09/2023 153 KB
Updated: 17/09/2023 1.07 MB
Updated: 17/09/2023 279 KB
Updated: 17/09/2023 84 KB
Updated: 17/09/2023 153 KB
Updated: 17/09/2023 613 KB